The "Morning" After

April 25, 2017

Monday, April 24, 2017, President G. Allen Crist called the regular meeting of the River Ridge Community Unit School District #210 Board of Education to order at 6:30 PM for the purpose of re-organizing the River Ridge Board of Education after the April 4, 2017 consolidated election. Board Members G. Allen Crist, Barb Schaible, Raymie Diestelmeier, and Don McLane answered roll call. President Crist announced a quorum was established. Also present: Superintendent Brad Albrecht, Principal Mike Foltz, Principal Beau Buchs, representatives from the RREA, members of the community and River Ridge students.

Supt. Albrecht canvassed the votes from the April 4, 2017 consolidated election. Newly elected board members: G. Allen Crist, Amy Finn, Diane Haring and Lisa Walters recited the "Oath of Office" as mandated by 105 ILCS 5/10-16.5.

For the purpose of re-organizing the Board of Education, Superintendent Albrecht was selected to act as president *pro tem* and secretary *pro tem* to request a motion to nominate a board member for the office of President at 6:35 PM.

The following appointments were approved for the re-organization of the School Board subsequent to the April 4, 2017 Consolidated Election:

President – G. Allen Crist; Vice President – Raymie Diestelmeier; Secretary – Barb Schaible; Member – Amy Finn; Member Diane Haring; Member – Don McLane; Member – Lisa Walters.

Raymie Diestelmeier will represent River Ridge CUSD #210 at the Jo Daviess-Carroll Career Technical Education Academy monthly meetings.

After adjourning the re-organization meeting the regular meeting was called to order by President Crist with a quorum established.

Approved the April Agenda as presented. Approved the regular and executive session board meeting minutes of March 20, 2017; and destruction of audio executive session minutes from August 17, 2015.

Reviewed the Treasurer's Report, Investment Report and Activity Reports. Approved bills and payroll in the amount of \$592,370.62.

Board Member and Administrative Reports:

- Member Diestelmeier reported on the Jo Daviess-Carroll Career Technical Education Academy April 3, 2017 meeting. 190 students are enrolled for the 2017-2018 school year. River Ridge 4th Quarter Outstanding students are: Timothy Tewell, Graphic Communications; Nicholas Girot, Law Enforcement; and Austin Kutz, Auto Body Repair.

- President Crist discussed current laws being considered – school funding and school board expenditures.

- Congratulations to elementary students Millie Boden (5th), Katie Cobine (4th) and Jamie Miller (3rd) for having their artwork displayed on Paula Sands Live KWQC Ch 6.

- Tristan Angell earned 5th place in Engineering Graphics and 5th place in Computer Science in state WYSE competition. Geometry and Pre Calculus teams consisting of

twelve River Ridge students will travel to Champaign on May 6th for the state ICTM competition under the direction of Mrs. Diestelmeier.

- A detachment hearing with the Regional Office of Education for River Ridge and Scales Mound School District #211 approved a transfer of property from River Ridge to Scales Mound District by a 4-2 vote.

- Renewed golf, baseball and girls basketball coop with Scales Mound #211 for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019.

- Building report – canopy paint, parking lot, multipurpose room and building seams.

- Building "walk through" at 6:15 PM on May 15, 2017.

May 5 th	-No PreSchool attendance
May 5 th	-River Ridge will host NIU STEM Program for our 2 nd and 3 rd graders
	and East Dubuque, Galena and Scales Mound 3 rd graders.
May 10 th	- 4 th Grade Band Night – 6:30 PM
May 22 nd	 Elementary Awards Day – 1:15 PM
May 23 rd	- Senior Awards/HS Awards – 9:15 AM
May 23 rd	 MS Awards/8th Grade Recognition – 1:15 PM
May 24 th	 Last student attendance day with no emergency days
	 Elementary Track and Field Day
May 26 th	 High School Graduation – 7:30 PM

1st reading of School Board Policy changes/updates.

Approved the two week 2017 Kindergarten-5th Summer School Program as presented by Principal Buchs with a budget of \$4,530 (depending on paraprofessional assignments). Elementary students will be in session from 8:30-11:30 AM Monday through Friday August 7th through August 18th, 2017. Transportation will be provided with one bus stop in Elizabeth and one in Hanover.

The Board entered into executive session to consider information regarding appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance or dismissal of specific employees of the District and report on student information and discipline and took the following action after executive session:

After executive session accepted with regret the following requests for retirement at the end of the 2016-2107 school year: Pat Arndt, cafeteria;, Nick Hernandez, bus driver; Brenda Smallwood, cafeteria effective March 1, 2017 and Kay Bailey, District Secretary, effective December 31, 2017.

Employed Nellie Bainbridge for cafeteria duties and Sara Richmond as Title I teacher for the 2017-2018 school year.

Approved a 2% salary increase plus extending contract one year for Principal Beau Buchs and Principal Mike Foltz for the 2017-2018 school year.

Approved a 2.25% salary increase for the non-certified employees for the 2017-2018 school year.

Subject for approval at the next regular meeting of the Board on May 15, 2017.